The ENCORE Digital Weekly Magazine is a
January 22, 2009 

Feature News
Touring News
Business News
Venue News
Festival News
Artist News
Legal News
Technology News
Awards & Benefits News
Artist Snapshot
Industry Profile
Vital Signs
Lefsetz Letter
International News
Net News





2009 Australian Bush Laureate Awards Winners
Posted: January 21, 2009
TAMWORTH, Australia (CelebrityAccess MediaWire) -- Winners in the 2009 Australian Bush Laureate awards were announced before a capacity audience in the Tamworth Town Hall on Tuesday, January 20.

In Book of the Year, the winner was "The Book Of Australian Popular Rhymed Verse" compiled by Jim Haynes.

In Book of the Year, Original Verse, for the best original Australian work in book form, the winner was "The Final Muster" by Ellis Campbell.

In the new Bush Poem of the Year category, the winner was "The Power Of Kokoda" by Dean Trevaskis.

In Album of the Year, the winner was “The Tartan Saddlecloth” by Gary Fogarty.

In Single Recorded Performance of the Year, the winner was “Faster, Higher, Stronger” by Murray Hartin (the second year running for Murray after his win last year with “Rain From Nowhere”).

In Children's Poem of the Year, the winner was “The Bush Animals Band” by Noel Stallard.

The Judith Hosier Heritage Award – for outstanding achievement in nurturing Australia’s heritage of verse, went to the Dorothea Mackellar Poetry Society, Gunnedah, for their annual competition, the oldest and largest poetry competition for school students in Australia.

The competition aims to "capture the imagination of students, inspiring them to express their thoughts creatively through poetry while celebrating the legendary work of Dorothea Mackellar, author of the famous poem My Country".

The Australian Bush Laureate Awards were first staged in 1997 to recognize excellence in published and recorded Australian bush poetry.

The 15th Australian Bush Laureate Awards will be held in Tamworth on Tuesday 26th January (Australia Day), 2010. --by Jane Cohen and Bob Grossweiner

© 2001-2017 Gen-Den Corporation. All rights reserved.
CelebrityAccessSM and Gen-DenSM are service marks of Gen-Den Corporation.

** ENCORE readers and those that utilize ENCORE features are bound by the ENCORE NEWSLETTER USE AGREEMENT. If you choose not to be bound by this agreement, please discard the e-mail and notify us of your desire to be removed from future mailings. **