Encore Magazine - A CelebrityAccess Weekly Publication

Garth Brooks And Alan Jackson Among Songwriter Hall Of Fame Inductees

Print This Article
Close This Window

Posted: August 22, 2011

NASHVILLE, TN (AP) -- Country superstars Alan Jackson and Garth Brooks are among the newest inductees to the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame.

They join Allen Shamblin, John Bettis and Thom Schuyler as the 2011 inductees.

Jackson has written or co-written 24 of his 35 No. 1 singles, including "Chattahoochee" and "Where Were You (When The World Stopped Turning)." Brooks also penned many of his own hits, like "The Thunder Rolls" and "The River."

Shamblin's credits include Miranda Lambert's "The House That Built Me" and Bonnie Raitt's "I Can't Make You Love Me." Bettis is known for pop-country crossovers such as "Slow Hand", sung by The Pointer Sisters and later Conway Twitty.

Schuyler's resume includes the Kenny Rogers hit "Love Will Turn You Around."

The induction ceremony will take place October 16th in Nashville.

© 2006 CelebrityAccess and Associated Press (AP). All rights reserved. Website Use Agreement. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. AP contributed to this report.